Mon Petit Amour

Paris, France, a fashion capital of the world and a city of love, of course i’ve always wanted to travel there. This is a place I knew i’d end up some day, whether if be for 4 days or 4 years. For now, I’ll take 4 days, at least until I learn some French.

Sean and I had a wonderful weekend getaway to Paris. We were SO lucky with the weather. Friday was slightly overcast but Saturday and Sunday were bright blue skies which made for a picturesque climb up the Eiffel Tower. We explored The Louvre, Arc de Triumph, Tour de Eiffel, Notre Dame, The Opera House and the Love Lock Bridge. Paris is the only city i’ve visited this semester that I felt  I could have studied abroad in. Don’t get me wrong, i’ve loved every city i’ve traveled to, and I know I am incredibly lucky, but there is just something about Paris that captured my heart. Even in the most touristy of cafes we were surrounded by French speakers and that was wonderfully mesmerizing. Although I struggled with the language barrier, and Sean was a bit rusty on his conversational French, the Parisians were welcoming and friendly. We were surrounded by the beautiful language, people and places that make Paris so special. Florence is a wonderful place, but every where seems to be overtaken by American students. (I know I fall into that category) In a way it was nice to feel like a minority rather than a negative majority.

Four days went by too fast. We could have spent four days in the Louvre alone. I could have also laid on the lawn in front of the Eiffel Tower for days on end and been perfectly content.

I’m glad I had my favorite travel buddy by my side to lay down some art history on me, take goofy pictures with me, and explore.